Deadline to Road Rage

It started yesterday when I forgot what day it was and posted Free Publicity Friday a day early (talk about a D’oh moment!). After realizing my mistake, I looked at my calendar, and I thought about how challenging it’s been trying to finish my current WIP,Road Rage.I also thought about how many ebooks and samples I have on my Kindle and how at the rate I’m going (I manage maybe an hour a night for reading), I’ll never get through them all plus keep up with all my favorite authors’ new releases. I also started to get really excited about judging in my first writing contest next month.

All these things swirled together like that megastorm seen from space in The Day After Tomorrow, and at the center is a single decision that I am putting out there for all the world to see and hold me accountible to:

I am not going to write in the month of May.

You heard me. No adding words to any manuscript. No sketching out scenes so I don’t forget them. No outlining. Okay, maybe a little outlining. I don’t want to get the shakes, after all.

So what will I do with May?

I will read. A lot. I am a slow reader and I take a lot of craft notes while reading, so I will set a modest goal of 15 books. That’s one every 2 days on average. Oooh, just thinking about reading 15 books in a month gets me all smiley and relaxed. I hope I can do it.

What that means for the remainder of April: I have 11 days to finishRoad Rage. Or I’ll have to sit on it until June.

There it is, folks. See Jessi commit. Peek at my Goodreads profile and check back here to keep me honest, will you? I’d appreciate it.

Have you ever taken a break from writing? If so, why and how did you respond during the break and after?

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Deadline to Road Rage

  1. Ooo, I cringe at the thought of not writing for a month and admire your determination. I know you can do it though.

    I gave up writing for Easter, and I’ve given it up to work on other projects like trying to paint the inside of my house. It usually makes me cranky, but if I were reading instead, I don’t know, I might have done much better that way.

    Good luck!

  2. Jessi Gage says:

    Thanks, Laura. It’s my attempt to recharge the creativity and reacquaint myself with the various romance markets. I think it’ll be fun, but I’m sure i’ll have my hard days.

  3. Amy Raby says:

    I think that’s a great idea! Every writer needs to recharge the creativity batteries now and then. I like to give myself a couple of weeks off after finishing a novel anyhow, just to recover from post-novel ennui (I swear it’s almost like post-partum depression). Good luck finishing Road Rage by your deadline!

  4. Jessi Gage says:

    I know, I get that depression, too. It comes along with all kinds of self-doubt and fears about whether I have another story in me. Then I get over myself and start writing, and usually find I’ve improved in some dimension as a writer. I’ll certainly post about all my ups and downs and observations and withdrawals as I go without my daily writing fix. Should be a fun ride.

Leave a comment

