Free Publicity Fridays

I’m in the middle of reading a long book right now that I will probably be recommending in Free Publicity Fridays next week. But this week, I got nada for book reviews. So instead, I’m plugging my friend, Candace Havens’ (http://www.candacehavens.com/) Writing Workshop: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Write_Workshop/

I’ve been a member for a couple of years now, and I can’t begin to tell you how much I’ve learned. Oh, wait, I’m a writer, so yes, I can tell you.

I LANDED MY FIRST PUBLISHING CONTRACT in large part thanks to the content in this FREE workshop.

Yikes, with all those caps, I’m reminding myself of an as-seen-on-TV ad.

Thanks to Candy herself and the many talented contributors she brings in, I’ve learned a ton, including:

  • Developing tag lines
  • Using social media most effectively
  • Plotting
  • Characterization
  • Writing Setting
  • Self-editing

And I’m sure I’m forgetting lots. This is just what I can remember off the top of my head. In other words, the Writing Workshop is very useful and covers many areas authors serious about developing their craft are interested in.

I’ve also made one very dear friend who have become a trusted critique partner. Her name is Laura, and you can visit her blog here: http://lauraleenutt.blogspot.com/. The value of a critique partner or a critique group cannot be understanded. For confirmation of this fact, take a look at this blog by a member of the Cupcake Crew (my local crit group): http://www.juliebrannagh.com/

Right now, Angi Morgan (http://angimorgan.com/) is teaching a FREE workshop on Deep POV. Every writer needs to read through the content in this workshop. If you think you have a handle on deep pov, I challenge you to try and find something in Angi’s lesson that you didn’t know before. I guarantee you will.

Please take a moment to check out the Writing Workshop (link above). It is totally free, but you have to join it (It’s a Yahoo group). You will get something out of it, promise.

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free Publicity Fridays

  1. Jennifer Lowery says:

    Thanks so much for introducing me to Angi! I signed up for the yahoo group and can’t wait to take the workshop and read her books!

  2. Jessi Gage says:

    Sweet! That’s what it’s all about, connecting writers, making friends, learning:) Your blog does a great job of all those things, too, Jennifer! It’s a fun place to meet others and see what folks are working on. I hope anyone reading these comments will click on your name and head on over.

  3. I second Jessi’s praise of Candace Haven’s Write_Workshop. She also has classes in pitching a work, writing good intimate scene, and fast draft. The nice thing if you miss a class is that the lessons always remain up, so you can check them later. Though, it’s always best to take the class when it’s offered if you can to get feedback from the instructor and your peers.

    And thanks, Jessi! I wouldn’t have gotten as far as I have as a writer had I not met you on the workshop either. 🙂

  4. Jessi Gage says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Laura! Hope you’re having an awesome writing day!

Leave a comment

