May Read O Thon Update

I finished my 15th book 13 minutes into June. I’m going to be bold and go ahead and say I DID IT!!!!! 15 books read in the month of May! Hooray!

If you’ve no idea what I’m blathering about, here’s the post where I publicly committed to putting aside the keyboard and doing nothing but read, read, read in the month of May: https://jessigage.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/may-read-o-thon/

Here’s May’s reading list (omitting the 2 books I attempted but just couldn’t sink my teeth into):

Book#(Date)   Title (Author) Goodreads Rating
1 (5/2/12)       Twelve Sharp (Janet Evanovich) 5
2  (5/3/12)      The Darkest Lie (Gena Showalter) 4
3 (5/4/12)       His Mortal Soul (a.c. Mason) 3
4 (5/6/12)       Kara’s Wolves (Becca Jameson) 5
5 (5/8/12)       Unveiled (Courtney Milan) 5
6 (5/12/12)     The Blind Side (Michael Lewis) 4
7 (5/15/12)     Branded by Fire (Nalini Singh) 4
8 (5/18/12)     Destiny Calls (Samantha Wayland) 5
9 (5/20/12)     Miranda’s Viking (Maggie Shayne) 5
10 (5/21/12)   Tranquility (Anya Bast) 3
11 (5/22/12)   An Uncommon Sense (Serenity Woods) 5
12 (5/24/12)   Stranded With a Scotsman (Serenity Woods) 5
13 (5/28/12)   Touch of a Thief (Mia Marlowe) 5
14  (5/30/12)  The Summoner (Alisha Steele) 4
15 (6/1/12,12:13a.m.) Morning Man (Barbara Kellyn) 5

I charged my Kindle roughly once a week and changed the batteries in my Verso kindle light once.

So, did I accomplish what I hoped to, mainly recharging the old creativity and clearing out my Kindle’s queue? Yes and Yes, though, my samples collection is astronomically huge!

I wasn’t sure whether I’d go insane or not without writing for a whole month. I am pleased to report that I have not gone insane. I wasn’t even cranky very often. I think I owe my sanity to the massive amount of critiquing I undertook in May. Between judging some contest entries, participating in my wonderful crit group (#Cupcakecrew), and critting a full manuscript for a dear friend and critique partner, I was able to employ enough critical thinking and literary judgment to satisfy the old writing muscle.

June is looking like a great month to do some edits on two completed manuscripts, get out some queries, and hopefully get at least 10k new words on the page for a new wip. If you could see me as I write this, I am literally toasting the month of June with my short half-hazelnut latte. I love being a writer, and I’m so excited to be getting back to the keyboard.

If you’re a writer, have you ever taken a break from writing, voluntary or otherwise? How did you maintain your sanity? What did the break teach you about yourself?

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May Read O Thon Update

  1. Amy Raby says:

    Congratulations! I think it’s a great idea to “fill the well” now and then, both by reading other authors and by getting out of the house and doing things (of course, with small kids, getting out of the house is not always feasible).

  2. Jessi Gage says:

    My well is so darn full! Now I need the superpower of stopping time so I can write down all my ideas!

  3. I try to keep reading and writing. Sadly, I’m finding my fiction time is waning, as I usually save it for bedtime and I’m finding lately I get much too sleepy to read much. Maybe I should add a fiction piece to the daytime non-fiction pile? I envy your energy. Good for you!

  4. Jessi Gage says:

    It can be so hard to find just the right balance! Good luck carving out that reading time, Barbara!

Leave a comment

