The Look Challenge

My blogging friend, Mae Claire pinged me on the LOOK challenge, and, of course, I had to participate. Thanks, Mae Clair!

So how does the LOOK challenge work? ‘Tis fairly simple and a lot of fun!

  1. Find the first usage of the word ‘look’ in your WIP and paste the surrounding paragraph into your blog.
  2. Tag as many people as you want to take part in the challenge with you.

To see Mae Claire’s paragraph, which is really wonderful, visit her blog here: http://maeclair.net/2012/08/29/mae-clairs-liking-the-look/

My LOOk excerpt is from my wip Jade’s Spirit, about an ex-stripper and a 27-yo virgin who need to keep their hands off each other or feed the incubis demon haunting her house. I’m cheating a little and pasting in two paragraphs, since the para “look” appears in is so short:

     Bending to the side-view mirror, she made sure the heat hadn’t melted her mascara or the pancake makeup over her bruised cheek. The equal opportunity concealer covered tattoos, birthmarks, bruises, and anything else that lowered tips. It could also withstand buckets of sweat and the punishing heat of performance lights. As an exotic dancer, she ought to know. Well, former exotic dancer, she guessed, since her new town, quaint little Dover, Vermont, didn’t have a strip club.
     In the reflection, her forehead sported a sheen of sweat, but otherwise, thanks to the pancake, she looked like her normal tanned, brunette, care-free self. Not battered at all.

I hope you enjoyed my LOOK challenge! I ping the following authors:

Laura Lee Nutt
Amy Raby
Julie Brannagh
Ksenia Anske
Jennifer Lowery

Let me know what you think of my LOOK excerpt, and even if I didn’t ping you, feel free to carry on the challenge! It’s always fun to share a snippet of your wip and get feedback.

Thanks for stopping by!

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Look Challenge

  1. Mae Clair says:

    Wow, that’s a heck of a set up, Jessi. I’m wondering what the bruise and ‘battering’ is all about. Yikes! Sounds like the quaint little town of Dover, Vermont is in for a shake-up! Thanks so much for taking part in the Look challenge. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!

    • Jessi Gage says:

      Yes, I enjoyed it. I love reading snippets from other authors to see what they’re working on, and it’s so fun when a challenge lets you show off a great paragraph of your own:) thanks for stopping by.

  2. Jessi, A lovely snippet–battering included

  3. Jessi, fantastic description of Jade’s Spirit. I’m hooked all over, and I’ve read it already! Great paragraphs too. I’ll continue it on my blog.

    • Jessi Gage says:

      Thanks, writing buddy! Hopefully after #CupcakeCrew has at it, it’ll be even better. I already am thinking about bringing Grandma Nina back from the dead…

  4. Pingback: The Look challenge | Amy Raby

  5. Amy Raby says:

    Great paragraphs! I said this on Marlene’s blog too, but what I like about this challenge is that what typically comes up is character description, and it’s fun reading how authors handle the particular challenge of describing people, whether it’s the protagonist herself or someone the protagonist is observing.

  6. Pingback: Celebrating a Contest Final! | Jessi Gage

Leave a comment

