Free Publicity Fridays

The Spymaster's Lady (The Spymaster's Lady, #1)

Is it any coincidence that the last name of my new favorite author is the same as the name of the hero in Robert Ludlum’s action-packed spy series starting with The Bourne Identity? I think not. A friend and critique partner introduced me to Joanna Bourne http://www.joannabourne.com/ via The Spymaster’s Lady, and I am in her debt for it.

There are books with twisty, edge-of-your seat, continually-surprising plots. There are books with fascinating characters who keep surprising you. There are books with such remarkable dialog you can see exactly what’s happening just by reading what the character’s say. There are books with such detailed historical setting, you walk around talking like a character from Dickens like a bloody idiot for days after reading them. There are NOT many books that do it all. The Spymaster’s Lady is one.

I found a single thing wrong with it. The cover makes me roll my eyes. But I am a generous reviewer. I do not deduct stars for cover art. Usually.

The thing I loved the most was the heroine. Annique. Her Frenchness permeated every aspect of her from her mannerisms to her brusque acceptance of any situation to her speech, everything. She was sympathetic, capable, intelligent, practical, and vulnerable in ways that broke my heart. I will remember her for a long time.

Enjoy these few lines from The Spymaster’s Lady and go buy a copy. Now. It’s good. 5 stars from me.

“I do not know why I am helping you. It is an example of disinterested benevolence, this.”–p. 23 (Berkley Sensation, NY , 2008)

“I have had little to do with the English before this. I see now that was wise, though there are doubtless many sorts of Englishmen who are more reasonable than you. Perhaps I will reserve judgment.”–p. 26

“When one says, ‘I will not let myself feel anything for that man,’ it is already too late.”–p. 154

“He annihilates any common sense I have, which is disturbing to me as a French woman, for we are a logical race.”–155

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Free Publicity Fridays

  1. Amy Raby says:

    Such a good book! And you’re right, it deserves a better cover.

    • Jessi Gage says:

      Not that I don’t love a partially-clothed torso, but…is it me or are his abs uneven?

      • Amy Raby says:

        I hadn’t noticed that, but yeah, I think they kind of are. What I don’t like about this cover is that it makes this novel look like a generic romance, and I feel like this novel is so special it should have a cover that makes it look special. I guess it’s hard to visually depict a spy. An assassin is easier; just put a dagger in her hand, but what visual cue says, this is a spy? It’s not easy, but I think more could have been done than generic male torso out in the country.

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Ooo, this sounds good. I’ll have to look it up. And I must be shallow, I like the cover, though I could do with a little less torso. A partially open shirt is often sexier. This cover does scream romance novel though.

    • Jessi Gage says:

      You’re right, it does. And i agree with Am. It isn’t a typical romance novel. It would have been nice if the cover reflected that. But oh well. The writing is AMAZING.

Leave a comment

