Tuesday’s Word

Impatiens
noun
-a small plant with pink, red, orange, or white flowers

Bands of evening sun spooled through the patio door, tinting the floor with antique brass and candied peach. He could see a grouping of rattan furniture topped by plump green cushions through the glass. Potted geraniums and bright pink impatiens overflowed into the yard.

Clair, Mae (2012-09-26). Weathering Rock (Kindle Locations 1486-1488). Lyrical Press, Inc.. Kindle Edition.

Thanks to Mae Clair for teaching me a new word this week! Love her descriptions. So vivid!

Definition from http://www.onelook.com/?w=impatiens&ls=a

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday’s Word

  1. Jennifer Lowery says:

    Hi Jessi! I’m back! And I know this word! Love the flowers! Have planted them myself! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Jessi Gage says:

      Thanks, Jennifer. Sometimes I feel like I’m showing my ignorance when I post a word. I’m like, “I’m probably the only person in the Northern Hemisphere who doesn’t know this.” But I post anyway. I figure if i post a word I don’t know and visitors to my blog DO know it, it makes them feel smart;-) So, you go, smarty-pants!

  2. Mae Clair says:

    Oooh, what a surprise. I made your Tuesday Word! I am TRULY honored!! Thanks, Jessi 🙂

Leave a comment

