Free Publicity Fridays

Tip of the Spear (Amazon Western #1)

Tip of the Spear by Marie Harte captured my imagination and never let go as it catapulted me into a powerful love story set in a dangerous, post-apocalytic, western setting complete with carniverous horses, sky-rocks, and blood-drinking trees.

I loved the sheer imagination of Marie Harte’s world, and I thought she did an amazing job developing her characters. The hero and heroine, Hino and Thais, start out with goals that, if reached, would make a “Happy Ever After” impossible for them, but because this is romnce, you know it’s going to happen, somehow. This kind of plotting takes talent. Marie Harte’s got it, and I’ll be reading more from her for sure.

Here are some of my favorite lines from Tip of the Spear (Any typos are my own, as I had to enter them by hand rather than copy them from my Kindle for PC as I usually do). I highly recommend Tip of the Spear to fantasy, western, and romance fans, and anyone who likes a shirtless hero who says what he’s thinking, even if it’s unbearably crass.

Sex had never been more necessary than it was lately. As if humanity sought a hold on its own existence, men wanted nothing more than to shove a pecker in a warm hole and strive to create in their own image. Even he had thoughts of making a child someday. A fantasy, but one that haunted him despite his troubles.–Kindle Location 245.

Tthe puzzlement on her face spoke volumes. The woman could handle herself with a knife, but the Territories and sex seemed to confuse her. A fucking virgin . His dick filled out beneath his fly, the thought of introducing Thais to sex too enticing for his peace of mind.–Kindle Location 651.

   “I’m not here for your entertainment. I have things to do. As soon as I find Gregor, I can get the information I need from Kitty. And you and I are done.”
He lost his humor at the her setdown. “Honey, you and I are done when I damn well say so, and not a moment before.”–
Kindle Location 1692

   “What,” she asked. “I said I heard you. Do you have a hearing problem? Why are you looking at me like that?”
He wanted to kiss her. He wanted to strangle her. Quite the dilemma.–
Kindle Location 2040.

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

