Free Publicity Fridays

Trouble Won't Wait

Trouble Won’t Wait drew me into a story about one woman’s journey through ending a 13-year marriage and discovering a new love. Autum Piper made Mandy, Adam, and even filandering Mike so real that I laughed with them, felt their sorrow and shame, and was lifted by their hope as their lives tangle into an endearing tale of give and take, betrayal and trust.

Adam isn’t perfect. He’s pushy and demanding and kind of stalkery. But he’s also genuine and caring and very, very patient. What Mandy feels for him is new and realistic in light of the problems she’s having in her marriage…yes, you heard me, her marriage. And Adam isn’t her husband.

There’s infidelity in this one, folks, but it’s not what you might think, and it’s done superbly. Trouble Won’t Wait is one of my favorite reads of 2012, and I’m not alone in thinking so. USA Today ranked it as one of the best romance reads of 2012.

Here’s why I wholeheartedly believe Trouble Won’t Wait belongs on that list and why I give it 5 heartfelt stars: It’s a study in craft and a journey into one woman’s soul as she decides whether to resuscitate her dying marriage or pursue something that has the potential to be beautiful with a neighbor who is keeping secrets but being incredibly sweet and real.

Trouble Won’t Wait is romance, but it also feels a bit like women’s fiction to me since Mandy’s heart, decisions, and consequences appear on every page and drive the story every bit as much as the romance thread.  You might not always agree with her decisions or her reasoning (I did, but some women might wish she was firmer with her husband at the start and more willing to cut him loose after his cheating), but they are HER decisions, and they are true to her character and fit her life. By the way, there is a kick-butt lay-it-all-on-the-line scene where women everywhere will stand up and cheer, so if anyone thinks Many’s too soft at the beginning, just wait. Oh boy, just wait.

Please, please, if you love romance done realistic, sweet, and with a little bit of spice, check out Trouble Won’t Wait. Here are a few of my very favorite lines:

“I saw you running, from my house. I see you every day.” A flush spreads up his neck. Why does it sound like an apology? “Mandy.” He nods, committing my name to memory.–Kindle Location 124

   “What happened?” His voice is low and kind.
   The kindness wins me over. “Textbook betrayal dialogue. I’m angry, he’s apologetic, contrite, promising anything to make it better. I’m more angry. I tell him I’m finished, it’s over.”
  Adam looks pleased, his face is lighting up.
   I raise my hand to stop him. “He begs me to go to counseling, and I accept.”
   “What?” It’s a small word, in a smaller voice. His face gets red and he’s looking at me like I’m the biggest fool to walk upright.
   It’s my marriage, my decision whether to end it, and when. Adam barely knows me. And what he feels shouldn’t matter at this juncture. After all, what can he possibly feel after knowing me only two days? Yet a part of me likes that he’s upset by this. The same part of me cares about his feelings. I need to explain.–Kindle Location 753

“We haven’t known each other long enough to call it more, but I’m crazy about you, okay? He must be worried he’s freaked me out. “I’m not normally crazy, just for you.”–Kindle Location 768

Why can’t I cut him off in my mind and let go of that love? I should hate him all the time, not only when I remember, well, that thing he did.–Kindle Location 1006

   “Aunt Clara, do you think it’s possible to fall in love with a man at the same time that another one is breaking your heart?”
   “‘Course,” she answers, like I’m silly. “If the dog’s runnin’ out the back door, company can still come in the front, can’t they?”–Kindle Location 2348

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Free Publicity Fridays

  1. Autumn Piper says:

    Thank you, Jessi! Your reviews rock. And I still love how you put your favorite snippets in. Very nice touch.

  2. A wonderful review. I love reading your Friday posts. Thanks again, Jessi. I’m right now reading Trouble Won’t Wait by Autumn Piper.

  3. Pingback: Where you at? | Jessi Gage…A Time to Love

Leave a comment

