Release Day for Wishing for a Highlander

Wishing for a Highlander

Release Day is here!

I’m celebrating with several wonderful bloggers all week long (schedule at bottom of this post) and a GIVEAWAY! Two ecopies of WISHING FOR A HIGHLANDER are up for grabs. To enter the drawing, just leave a comment here or at any of the blogs I’ll be visiting. Here, all you have to do is leave Your email address, but at some of the blogs, I ask a question you must also answer to be entered in the drawing.

Good luck! And thanks for stopping by to help me celebrate!

As always, “likes” and “tags” on and Amazon and “want to reads” on Goodreads would be greatly appreciated.

Blog Appearance Schedule
Monday 1/7/13
Lyrical Press Blog (I talk about how a single tweet led to my very first publishing contract)
Nerine Dorman’s This is My World (I talk about what makes a great beginning to a novel)
Satin Sheets Romance Reviews (Angela Rose gives WISHING FOR A HIGHLANDER a very kind review)
Tuesday 1/8/13
Calisa Rhose’s Ranch (I talk about the idea that kicked off the story of WISHING FOR A HIGHLANDER)
Wednesday 1/9/13
RR@H Novel Thoughts & Book Talk (I talk about the appeal of a beta hero)
Friday 1/11/13
Laura Lee Nutt’s Blog (I talk about the sexiest article of clothing ever…the kilt)

WISHING FOR A HIGHLANDER
While examining Andrew Carnegie’s lucky rosewood box, single-and-pregnant museum worker Melanie makes a tongue in cheek wish on the artifact–for a Highland warrior to help her forget about her cheating ex. Suddenly transported to the middle of a clan skirmish in sixteenth-century Scotland, she realizes she should have been a tad more specific.

Darcy, laird in waiting, should be the most eligible bachelor in Ackergill, but a cruel prank played on him in his teenage years has led him to believe he is too large under his kilt to ever join with a woman. He has committed himself to a life of bachelorhood, running his deceased father’s windmills and keeping up the family manor house…alone.

Darcy’s uncle, Laird Steafan welcomes the strangely dressed woman into his clan, immediately marrying her to Darcy in hopes of an heir. But when Steafan learns of her magic box and brands her a witch, Darcy must do what any good husband would–protect his wife, even if it means forsaking his clan.

WARNING: A pregnant museum worker, a sixteenth-century Scot, and a meddlesome wishing box.

Excerpt:

Size might have its advantages when it came to fighting, but those few boons fell far short of making up for the problems it caused. Being the biggest and the strongest had gotten him into far more trouble than it had gotten him out of. Swallowing his regret for how careless he’d been with her, he sought to determine whom she belonged to, whom, saints forbid, he might owe.

“Whose wife are ye, then? Not a Gunn’s or I wouldna have had to rescue you from one.”

“I’m not married,” the lass said. “And thank you for the rescuing, by the way. I can’t believe I dropped the dirk. Stupid.” She shook her head.

His heart warmed at her thanks. He didn’t hear many kind words from the lasses and would take what he could get, even from a dishonored woman who had caught a bairn out wedlock. Oddly, he didn’t think poorly of her. Whether it was her worried brow, her guileless, soft mouth, or her vulnerable size, he had not the heart to condemn her.

He didn’t even mind so much that she found him distasteful for his size, although talking with her now, she didn’t seem overly upset to be in his arms. He endeavored to keep her talking, keep her distracted from her disgust.

“Ye never answered my first question,” he said. “Who are you? And where are ye from if ye’re no’ English?”

“Ugh. I don’t know. Is there an answer that won’t get me burned at the stake or locked up in a ward for the hopelessly insane?”

Like most things out of her mouth, that had been a peculiar answer. “Ye could try the truth,” he offered, slowing his pace since he heard Archie’s voice not far off.

“No,” she said flatly. “I couldn’t. At least not the whole truth. How about we just go with my name, Melanie, and with the honest fact that I’m a long way from home and I have no idea how to get back.” Her green eyes pierced his. “I’m afraid you might be stuck with me, Darcy Keith.”

WISHING FOR A HIGHLANDER buy links:
Lyrical (50% off for the month of January)
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Release Day for Wishing for a Highlander

  1. Mae Clair says:

    Congrats, Jessi and Happy Release Day! I’m so excited for you. Wishing you many, many sales. I already have my copy and can’t wait to check it out!

  2. Congratulations 🙂

  3. Amy Raby says:

    Happy release day! I just know readers will fall in love with this sexy highlander!

  4. Jessi, congratulations! I’m so proud of you. Enjoy every moment.

  5. Congratulations, Jessi. Wow, one tweet to an editor–I checked out the Lyrical post. How wicked. It was in your stars.

    • Jessi Gage says:

      I know, right? I was so nervous that day! But it all worked out. Now I have so many wonderful Lyrical sisters to share my success with! Getting ready to start Protector tonight! I’ll have a review up for you soon!

  6. Calisa Rhose says:

    Happy Release day Jessi! (you forgot the ‘s’ in my name btw ;)) I’m thrilled to host you on my blog tomorrow! I tried to leave a comment on the LPI blog but it won’t let me so know I read it and loved it!

  7. Michel King says:

    Congrats! I hope you are having fun on your blog tour!

    Michel_Lee_King(at)yahoo(dot)com

  8. Ann Roberts says:

    Your book sounds wonderful! I love stories where the heroine gets to “teach” the hero a thing or two, while the man still retains all his manliness! I can’t wait to read this, and I hope I win one of the copies!

    Ann
    Kyreadinggirl@yahoo.com

  9. Kyra Jacobs says:

    So excited for you today, Jessi! Best of luck on your release!!!

  10. Sheryl Nyary says:

    I love Highlander books, especially time travel. This sounds really good and I can’t wait to read it.
    Sheryll1974@netscape.net

  11. miki says:

    Congrats!
    Reading this blurb really made me want to discover more about your story

    thank you for this opportunity to win ( please enter me only if a pdf format is also available)
    isabelle(dot)frisch(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. laura says:

    I just started reading historical romances. i will be adding this book to my buy list. Can you get the book on your kindle?
    lauratroxelatyahoodotcom

    • Jessi Gage says:

      You can absolutely get it on Kindle. At Amazon store or for 50% off on Lyrical’s website (see my blog post for link) for the month of Jan. Only with Lyrical, as with most smaller presses, it can be a several-step process including needing to download the mozi/pdf/whatever files to your computer then plugging in your ereader to manually transfer. If the hassle’s worth it to you, you save $3 going direct through Lyrical.
      Good luck in the giveaway!

  13. barbed1951 says:

    I’ve always loved time travel books and when you add in Highlanders, it really catches my interest. 😀 I’m looking forward to reading Wishing for a Highlander, it sounds great.

  14. Congratulations, I’m so excited for you! You’re encouraging me to keep going forward and hoping to get published too, one day!

  15. Pingback: WINNERS & Great News! | Jessi Gage…A Time to Love

  16. Pingback: It’s An Honor Just To Be Nominated….Thanks, Ella! « theinnerwildkat

  17. Hey Jessi- just wanted you to know that I nominated you for a blog award. 🙂

  18. Pingback: Dipped In Awesome Sauce! | theinnerwildkat

Leave a comment

