Free Publicity Fridays: Joanne Wadsworth

Protector

What a privilege to review one of my Lyrical sister’s books! Angsty and passionate, Joanne Wadsworth’s Protector is a fabulous debut that will delight YA fantasy fans.

Not only are Faith and Davio from different planets, but their heritages mark them as enemies. But they are soul mates, and now that they’ve discovered each other, they can’t turn their backs on what they could have. Despite opposition from all angles, Earth halfling Faith and Magio’s Prince Davio are determined to be together, but for Faith, “being together” means something differnt than it does for the possessive Davio.

Throughout Protector Joanne Wadsworth does a great job of developing character and keeping the tension between Faith and Davio high. Her worldbuilding is packed with magic and fun, and her settings, from the beaches and mountains of New Zealand to the tumultuous oceans and towering cliffs of Magio, are breathtaking.

I’ll be looking for more from Joanne Wadsworth, for sure. Here are a few of my favorite lines:

Her aeronautical pen trick always captivated me. But not right now. Because right now, I was more than peeved. I’d had the worst week ever since my eighteenth birthday. I man the–Worst. Week. Ever.–Kindle Location 90.

He had come to me at the first sign I was in trouble–no man had done that in my life. My soul lifted and my heart soared.–Kindle Location 748.

Or more importantly, why would my father turn up after eighteen years of non-existence only to give me a safe location should I wish to use it?–Kindle Location 1484.

“…I don’t want to hear any more about you killing my father. It’s incredibly impolite…”–Kindle Location 1518.

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Free Publicity Fridays: Joanne Wadsworth

  1. Mae Clair says:

    Looking forward to this one. Bravo, Joanne!

  2. Hey Jessi, I love that last line you mentioned.
    “…I don’t want to hear any more about you killing my father. It’s incredibly impolite…”
    In fact, I think you’ve picked all my favorites. 🙂 Thanks for having me on your blog. *smiling*

Leave a comment

