Free Publicity Fridays

watershedHeart over Horny by Cd Brennan

Today I’m joined by my Lyrical sister, Cd Brennan. I asked Cd to tell me about her 2013 release Watershed, and she was more than happy to oblige. Take it away Cd!

Hi Jessi, nice to be here.

Watershed isnt’ too much of a fanny tickler. And I mean fanny in the British sense of the word. Unlike most romance books out there, Watershed is a sweet romance. It seems once 50 Shades topped the charts, it’s all about sex these days. I’m not knockin’ it for sure. Sometimes I pace ahead in a romance just to get to the good sex scenes! And many of my colleagues write hot romance, and I enjoy them just as much. I read a huge range of romance from YA/NA to BDSM, so not even necessarily partial to sweet versus saucy.

So why did I choose to write a sweet romance during a tidal rush of steamy books to the market?

There are two reasons, really.

I have to be honest and say the first one is my mum. Seriously. Because it was my first book, I knew my entire family and friends all over the world would read it. I couldn’t hold my mum back from the bookstore and from telling every one of her friends and every customer that visited our family business. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ashamed of romance – love is what makes the world go around – and I’m old enough to say the word sex in front of her now without cringing. But just barely. LOL. And your mum is – well, your mum.

The second and most important is that Watreshed is the first book of the Love Where You Roam series. Stories about self-discovery and falling in love. A light-hearted read, Watershed revels in those “first days”. It’s about the butterflies, about the wonderment and confusion – it’s about looking forward to seeing that person, just seeing them, even if it is only for a few minutes. It’s about the sexual tension that builds so strongly between two people that it is almost painful.  It’s that time of your life that rarely will be repeated (but can happen at any age!) – all the great emotion and buzz that resonate in your gut when you know something is building, something inescapable, something that will change your life.

I’m exploring this exact theme on my Sundae With Nuts blog where I host my fellow authors who answers sweet to steamy questions, but always questions about those “first days”. As my latest guest said: “It”s about having some fun and remembering your wild and crazy youth!”

So, even though Watershed won’t make you as horny as some other reads, I do hope it will leave you feeling happy, fulfilled, perhaps a soft sigh of awww may slip from your lips as you close the last page. Most of all, I do hope that it touches your heart.

Jessi: I love a mix of sweet and spicy. I read books that cover the gamut, and I’m looking forward to Watershed.

Great news! Watershed will be on sale for $0.99 for summer solstice, Friday June 21st. Mark your calendar and pick up your copy that day. If you just can’t wait, click on the cover above to hit Amazon right now.

Thanks Cd for stopping by! For more about Cd and her works, visit her on the web here.

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Free Publicity Fridays

  1. Cd Brennan says:

    Thanks for having me Jessi! 🙂

  2. Cd, I love how you describe what you’re book is about. I think too often we fly past the butterflies and wonderment of falling in love to get to the steamy. I’m not knocking the steamy either, but I’m glad to see the sweet in the mix too. Good luck with your book!

  3. Cd Brennan says:

    Thanks so much Laura! I may try steamy one day, but this series is going to be just sweet as pie.

Leave a comment

