Free Publicity Fridays: Mae Clair

Twelfth Sun by Mae Clair

Twelfth SunI’m thrilled to host one of my Lyrical sisters today. Mae Clair has been a good friend and critique partner, and she is one of the most active and interesting bloggers out there. If you haven’t checked out her blog, click on her name above, and see what tantalizing, chill-inducing mythical phenomenon she’s talking about this week. (Harry Potter fans will particularly love this Monday’s post on the basilisk.)

Jessi: Let’s start with an easy question. What’s your tagline for Twelfth Sun? Mae:

Thanks for having me here, Jessi, and thanks for that lovely intro! My tag line for Twelfth Sun is “The hunky young PhD knows all about seduction, but what does he know about love?”

Jessi: Love it. It fits your story perfectly! Let’s talk about the “hunky PhD’s” love interest. Your heroine, Reagan Cassidy, is an interior designer and a business owner. They say write what you know, and I suspect from the amazing setting details you wrote from Reagan’s point of view, you have a background knowledge of interior design.

Twelfth Sun excerpt: Reagan set her suitcase on the floor, pausing to study the decor. Interior design was her business so it was easy for her to appreciate the contrasting shades of blue, cream and brown that supported the inn’s nautical theme. The bedside lamp had a brass ship’s wheel mounted at the base, and the walls were paneled with planks of walnut-stained barnboard. A closed door on the adjacent wall led to what she guessed was the bathroom. Heaven!–Kindle Locations 50-53.

This wonderfully-written and highly visual paragraph is just one of many examples that put me right into the setting. How did you come into your deep knowledge of interior design?

Mae:  It’s probably a carry-over from my day job. I’ve spent over twenty years in real estate and have visited a lot of properties –historic, contemporary, cottages, B&B’s, multi-million dollar homes, farms and even an equine surgery center (that was an amazing estate!). My job focuses on marketing through avenues such as writing ad copy, brochure copy, and graphic design. As a result I tend to focus on details, especially visual ones, like what makes a room or home appealing. What kind of ambiance does the decor conjure, etc.? When I write fiction and think of setting, that switch is just naturally stuck in the “on” position. 🙂

Jessi: Your hero, Elijah Cross, is a scientific-minded PhD with a specialty in marine archeology, whereas Reagan has a more artistic personality. They have to work as a team to solve a treasure hunt. What challenges did you face balancing the scientist and the decorator and getting them to work together on the clues?

Mae: I’ve always been of the opinion opposites attract. My husband and I are perfect examples. I’m the idealistic dreamer, he’s the levelheaded realist. Over the years he’s helped me to realize there are times I need to be more practical and I’ve helped him be less pragmatic. It’s a yin and yang balance that creates harmony, the same with Elijah and Reagan. They each need something from the other to complete them. I just had to make them look past the surface. It was a lot of fun getting them there.

Jessi: And it was a lot of fun reading their journey! My favorite aspect of the romance between Reagan and Elijah is the age difference between them. Elijah is ten years younger than Reagan. This causes all kinds of insecurities on both ends. This was a nice source of tension throughout Twelfth Sun. What inspired you to write a story with a younger-man-older-woman dynamic?

Mae: Star-crossed love has always appealed to me, as does complicated romance. Remember, I’m an idealistic dreamer, believing love conquers all. 🙂 Creating a sizeable age gap, especially with the woman as the older party created immediate, built-in conflict I couldn’t resist.

Jessi: Your secondary characters are very important to the plot of Twelfth Sun. They also help create an almost Clue-like mystery component (strong, quirky characters; everyone is after the same goal; they are all staying in a mansion, and the host is mysteriously absent…or is he?). My affinity for the movie and board game Clue had me seeing parallels all over the place and was part of the reason I couldn’t put Twelfth Sun down. But the New England coast, summer-on-the-beach setting felt fresh and new. Tell me about blending romance and mystery. Was it difficult keeping both aspects of the plot in mind as you wrote the novel?

Mae:  Not especially. I’ve always held the belief that romance and mystery are a perfect fit, although I know many readers prefer their genres pure. I loved Clue as a kid, (it’s still my favorite board game) and spent a good portion of my childhood dreaming up mysteries for my imaginary characters to solve. I love the danger and the unknown elements of a mystery…trying to fit all of the pieces together. But I’m also hopelessly romantic, which is why I love to blend the two. BTW, I’m glad you enjoyed the setting. The eastern seaboard has long been my second home 🙂

Jessi: If you had to participate in a treasure hunt at a wealthy eccentric’s estate, where would you want to go? If it were me, I’d choose a Scottish Castle. Maybe Skibo Castle, the place where Madonna and Guy Ritchie got married.

Mae: Actually, I think I’d go with the setting I conjured for Twelfth Sun. I love the coast and as lavish as I made the mansion, I could definitely pass a day or two there. Plus it had a quaint little sea town just down the road. My idea of beach bliss!

Jessi: That mansion was definitely way cool. I mean, it had a planetarium and everything! Did you actively research to nail the maritime details and mysterious clues of Twelfth Sun? Or did you simply draw from your passion for maritime history?

Mae: I did research the maritime history details. Everything related to ship building, lightships (a passion of mine), nautical superstitions and some of the stories Elijah tells related to nautical history are all true. For the clues, that was me, letting my mind run rampant. 🙂

Jessi: Thank you for visiting A Time to Love Mae! My final questions: Where can readers buy Twelfth Sun and where can they go to learn more about you and your works?

Mae: Thanks so much for having me Jessi. It was a pleasure to be here! All of my contact and purchase links are below.

Contact Links for Mae Clair:
Website
Blog
Twitter (@MaeClair1)
Facebook Author Page
Amazon Author Page
Goodreads

Purchase TWELFTH SUN from:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
iBooks

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Free Publicity Fridays: Mae Clair

  1. Daisy Banks says:

    I loved this book. I’m fascinated by architecture too. Good luck with the book.

  2. Jessi Gage says:

    Thanks, Daisy! I loved it too. Mae is such a detail-oriented writer. Her settings are amazing.

  3. Emma says:

    Mae, you must have seen a lot of beautiful houses over the years. Loved reading a book where for once the woman was older than the man.

  4. Already got it on my ereader! Now I just need to find time to read it! I’m a big Mae fan. 🙂

  5. I love Scottish castles too, Jessi. I’d want a treasure hunt in one, but it needs to have a secret tunnel. And dungeons. Ooo, think of the scary. I believe the treasure hunt should be on a Friday the 13th too. Might as well go all out.

    Mae, I love the older woman, younger man, element, and adding the whole nautical treasure hunt theme in. You’re brilliant.

  6. I so enjoyed this interview. Clue is still my favorite board game and I would love to treasure hunt inside a castle…Scottish or Welsh would serve me equally well! A perfect interview for a wonderful book! You ladies rock!

  7. Wonderful interview! Mae, I’ve always been in awe of your descriptive abilities. I also love that you blend romance and mystery — after all, what is more mysterious than romance? 🙂

  8. Calisa Rhose says:

    Every time I read about Twelfth Sun I want to read it more and more. Unfortunately, my time doesn’t allow for a lot of reading right now, but soon! 🙂 I love interior design so this sounds right up my preference alley. Congrats on another awesome book, Mae.
    *waves madly at Jessi*

  9. Mae Clair says:

    Hi, Calisa. I hope you enjoy it when you get the chance. I really loved writing this one, it was just so much fun.:D And always pleased to meet someone who appreciates interior design! YAY!

Leave a comment

