My Season Has Arrived!

by danarossmartin via wana commons

by danarossmartin via wana commons

Autumn is here at last!

Can you hear me sigh with relief that I can at long last close up my non-air-conditioned house to the outdoors after four months of allergy-inducing fresh air? *Siiiiggghhh!*

I can wear sweaters! I can breathe through my nose! I can sleep in a cool bedroom without being inundated by sinus-clogging pollen! It’s AMAZING! I love you, autumn! And I love you, Jesus, for making autumn.

‘Tis the she season of hot cider, brightly colored leaves, painting pumpkins, and writing love stories to the soft tapping of the Seattle drizzle on my roof. This is totally my season, and I plan to live it up.

Here’s what I’ve got going on this week and this season:

wishingforahighlanderWishing for a Highlander is in You Gotta Read Reviews’ cover contest this week.

Voting will remain open until Friday Sept 27th. Stop on by and vote for my cover (it’s #8 in the list). I’m up against some stiff competition. Even I was tempted to vote for some of the other covers.

Emerald City Writers Conference

I’m so excited to be co-leading a workshop with my two critique partners, Amy Raby and Julie Brannagh at this excellent writer’s con this October.

ECWC_2011_smallThe Emerald City Writer’s Conference is a first-rate con with a phenomenal line-up of speakers this year, including Maya Banks, Robyn Carr, Cherry Adair, Marie Force, and Bob Mayer. It’s put on by the Greater Seattle RWA, and promises to be a fun, career-boosting, creativity-inspiring time.

Northwest Bookfest

northwest-bookfest-new-logo-5-30-2013-website-topFocused on the topic of Navigating the Digital Age, Northwest Bookfest this November will be super informative and a great chance for me to catch up with some of the talented writers I got to hob-nob with while learning the ropes of this writing thing (I’m still learning, but the way, hence my attending cons whenever possible!).

Writing, Editing, and Critiquing

I’m pretty new at this whole published author thing, but I’ve got to say, it’s pretty awesome. This autumn, I’ve got two manuscripts to pre-edit before Lyrical’s amazing editors get a hold of it. Both books will be published in 2014.

The Wolf and the Highlander is the second in my Highland Wishes series and will give Anya, the villainess of Wishing for a Highlander a chance at redemption in the arms of a taciturn wolf-man.

I’m still working on the title for the second book. It’s currently called Jade’s Spirit, but I’m looking for a more romance-y title…hm, maybe I need to do a poll…stay tuned for that, okay? It’s about a 27 yo virgin named Emmett and a stripper named Jade who moves to his small Vermont town to help her grandmother recover from a broken hip. The two of them need to work together to thwart a demon haunting her grandmother’s Victorian house.

I’m also finishing up a Christmas piece, Cole in My Stocking, about a girl who returns to her hometown to deal with her deceased father’s estate and finds that the cop she had a crush on as a teenager is just as hot as he was back then and he’s got his eye on her, despite the bad reputation the town unfairly slapped her with.

Next up on the writing block is the story of Constance and Wilhelm, two beloved characters from Wishing for a Highlander. I’m planning a Christmas-themed novella for them that I think I’ll call, The Witch and the Highlander.

So that’s what I’m up to. It’s going to be a wonderful autumn for me. I hope yours promises to be just as exciting! Thanks for reading! Remember to always take time to love…

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Season Has Arrived!

  1. Amy Raby says:

    You’re stoked about autumn and I’m sorry to be losing summer! I always miss the warm weather, despite its irritations.

    Sounds like you’ve got a big season coming up, though, with several books in the publishing queue and a couple of conferences!

    • Jessi Gage says:

      We all have our pet seasons, don’t we! If I had AC, it would be a different story. I do love the blackberries that grow all around my property in summer. I will miss blackberry-pancake Saturdays!

  2. I absolutely adore Pumpkin Spice Latte season…LOL! Hey, I live in Florida. Leaves don’t change colors…unless the tree is dying. The temperature only moderately drops. But Pumpkin Spice comes back into town…:-)

  3. Autumn and winter are the seasons I love best 🙂 I always like getting snuggled and I love wearing sweaters too! Looks like you’ve got a busy week!

  4. Stacy Teitel says:

    That Northwest Bookfest looks like so much fun!! Wish it was closer to me!

    Very exciting to hear about all the upcoming books and writing plans you have. 😀

    Autumn is my favorite season too. It’s got me thinking about finishing last year’s NaNo project I started. I just need hot chocolate, a crackling fire, and a soothing drizzle here.

    • Jessi Gage says:

      I love writing to a soothing drizzle! Good luck with that project.

      Yes, I’m looking forward to Northwest Bookfest. I think it’ll be informative as I’m considering self-publishing. And, crazily, I’m on a panel for romance. Like I’m some kind of expert or something, LOL! Thankfully, I’ll have one of my CPs on the panel too, so if I start to say anything stupid, she can kick my shin.

Leave a comment

