Pick My Title

Title Help and a Giveaway

It’s time to celebrate! My wonderful publisher, Lyrical Press, has offered me a contract on a novel that is very dear to my heart. It’s working title has been Jade’s Spirit, but I’m not sure that title captures the romance and paranormal aspects of this sweet, haunting tale.

So, I’m leaving the choice up to you, my readers!

Here’s the blurb for the novel:

Everyone knows that Emmett “the lawn guy” Herald is a big flirt. They also know he’s all bark and no bite. The virginity vow he took in church youth group when he was 17 has become legendary in Dover, Vermont, and the whole town’s waiting to see if he’ll blow a decade of “waiting for marriage” now that he’s dating the new girl from Boston, the hot one with the stripper name, Jade.

Only Emmett knows just how tenuous his hold on virginity is, especially since his parents’ divorce has killed his belief in “’til death do us part” and the Boston beauty revs his engine like no other girl ever has. But before he can decide whether to send his virginity off with a bang or hold to his straight and narrow life of lawn care and blue balls, he comes face to face with an ancient evil bent on possessing his girl.

Emmett joins forces with a seminary student and a ghost to fight for Jade’s life, but when he learns he must conquer his fear of commitment to save her, he has to make a much bigger decision than whether or not to keep it in his pants.

The best weapons against evil are faith, love, and an in-your-face Boston attitude, but they’ll only work if Emmett is brave enough to use them.

I’m looking for a title that captures the novel’s paranormal theme while appealing to a romance reader. Please help by voting in my poll!

To show my appreciation, I’ll promise an advance ecopy of the novel to one of the voters. All you have to do is (1) vote and (2) leave a comment so I know to enter you in the drawing.

Thanks and have a wonderful weekend!

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Pick My Title

  1. Cat Sides says:

    I voted for “Possessing Jade.” It’s as sexy title and it could mean her possession by the evil spirit or by Emmett! 🙂

  2. Calisa Rhose says:

    Well I was going to suggest another title (To Kill a Virgin) that would address his personal challenges. Then I realized that wouldn’t let me vote for the one that, to me, captures everything you’re looking for. He wants to possess Jade, but he also wants to prevent the evil from possessing her. I choose Possessing Jade.

  3. Possessing and Claiming don’t sound very romantic to me (almost sound domineering). I selected “Other” – Loving Jade.

  4. Jessi Gage says:

    Ooh, Loving. That’s nice. I like it! Thanks for your vote, Stacy!

  5. I voted for Claiming Jade, because it sounded as if the evil spirit and Emmett both wanted to claim her. With Possessing Jade, it sounded as if only the evil spirit did. So Claiming Jade it was. I also like “To Hold A Virgin,” or “Virgin’s Sacrifice.” I like using the word virgin in the title. It always grabs a reader’s attention, because who doesn’t like reading a story about one’s first love. This book certainly sounds amazing, Jessi. I love, love the blurb. When is it set for release in 2014?

  6. This was fun, Jessi. I’d suggest another potential title Stripped To His Soul, because it seems to me that Emmett’s soul is in as much jeopardy as Jade’s. Any of them are great and I hope Ryan Reynolds signs up to play the lead. If he’s the inspiration for Emmett, I have to wonder how you managed to get the book written. I’d be busy daydreaming about him!

  7. Stacy Teitel says:

    I chose Possessing Jade because the ancient evil wants to possess her spirit (although it might imply that Jade is a possession). But maybe Jade’s Spirit could work if it embodies a broader meaning, like, her spirit is not only what the ancient evil wants but is also what unlocks Emmett’s heart/virginity…

    Good luck with it! Looks like you have a lot of worthy options to choose from! 🙂

    • Jessi Gage says:

      The deeper meaning of Jade’s Spirit is what I always think of with that title, but I’m afraid most people in the market to buy a new romance aren’t thinking of things like double meanings. Sigh. I need something that grabs the attention and says ROMANCE! and PARANORMAL! and READ ME! LOL. Not a tall order at all.

      • Stacy Teitel says:

        Haha, I agree! A title has to encompass all those traits. Jade’s Allure… A Virgin’s Sacrifice… Tempting Emmett… I wish I was better at coming up with titles lol! I know you’ll pick the one that works best for you. 🙂

  8. Hey girl! I put in “The Cost of Her Soul” but after reading some of your comments “The Cost of His Soul” might be a better fit.

  9. Mae Clair says:

    I’m late (I’ve been away on vacation) but of the choices above I like Possessing Jade best. I have to admit I’m not completely sold on it, because I’m not sure it says what you want it to say, but off the top of my head I can’t come up with anything else. Sorry! I know the book is going to rock! Congrats on your contract, Jessi!

  10. Joy Keeney says:

    I really liked Possessing Jade.

Leave a comment

