A Season of Change

Happy 2014!

Happy-New-Year-2014-Clip-Art-Images-For-Free

The New Year has brought some changes to my cozy little writing corner. My publisher, Lyrical Press, has been acquired by Kensington and is now a digital-first imprint of the large NY house.

What this means for Lyrical authors in general:

Over the weekend, all Lyrical e-books were taken down from sale on e-retailers. After authors sign new contracts with Kensington, their books will be re-uploaded for sale with Kensington as the publisher instead of Lyrical.

Wishing for a HighlanderWhat this means for my readers:

Among Lyrical’s books that were taken down from sale are my two Lyrical novels, Wishing for a Highlander and Road Rage. Last I checked, Wishing for a Highlander was still available on Amazon in print, and it was still available as an ebook at Barnes n Noble, but that could change at any time.

If you’re on the hunt for one or the other of my books, have no fear! They will be back in two shakes of a lamb’s tail.

roadrageIn the meantime, please click on the cover images and mark my books “to read” on your Goodreads shelf OR click here to sign up for my newsletter.

I only send out newsletters when I have a new release out, so by signing up, you’ll guarantee you won’t miss the re-release party, which for Wishing for a Highlander is tentatively set for Feb 1st 2014. I plan to re-release Road Rage, retitled as Reckless, March 1st 2014.

What this means for me:

I published two books with Lyrical in 2013:
~Wishing for a Highlander
~
Road Rage

I have two books in the pipeline for publication with Lyrical in 2014:
~The Wolf and the Highlander, which is the sequel to Wishing for a Highlander and is/was due to be released in August
~Virgin’s Sacrifice, a contemporary in my Blue Collar Boyfriends series, due to be released in October

A consequence of Kensington acquiring Lyrical is the dissolving of all Lyrical contracts, including all four of mine. To get my previously published books back “on line”, I will need to sign contracts with Kensington. Likewise, to move forward with my 2014 books, I will need to sign with Kensington.

I haven’t signed yet, but I am considering doing so, at least for my 2014 books. As for my 2013 books, Wishing for a Highlander and Road Rage, I have decided to self-publish those.

Why, you ask?

  1. I have been considering self-publishing for a while now. This is golden opportunity to start learning. What better time to take on a new endeavor than at the start of a new year?
  2. While I am super excited to have the opportunity to partner with a big NY house like Kensington on my 2014 titles, I don’t expect them to give a whole lot of attention to Lyrical’s backlist books. In fact, as an author hopeful to have two books coming out with them in 2014, I would prefer to have more marketing attention on my new books than my old ones. So I will bear the brunt of marketing these re-released titles myself and focus on my new releases with Kensington’s full marketing support.
  3. I won’t bore you with my list of pros and cons, but I will say that for me, the pros of self-publishing my backlist titles just barely squeak ahead of the cons. I’m viewing this exercise as an experiment. Like diversifying one’s stock portfolio, I’ll have some small press experience, some big NY press experience, and some self-publishing experience. I’m a new-ish author, so learning the ins and outs of all these different paths to publishing will help me make decisions as I grow my career.

Why haven’t I signed yet?

Signing with a small press like Lyrical was a huge honor and a huge responsibility. I navigated the contract stage with the help of my husband and a couple of trusted author friends with experience in reading and negotiating writing contracts. Lyrical’s contract was very author friendly and straight-forward. I had no problem signing it and moving forward with them.

I have truly loved working with Lyrical. From editing support to marketing help to professional and timely responses to my questions, I have had absolutely nothing to complain about. I want to thank Piper Denna and Renee Rocco for believing in me and my work and for being just awesome to partner with as we brought my books to life.

I also expect this merger with Kensington will bring nothing but wonderful things for Lyrical, and I look forward to being a part of that. That said, I am not comfortable negotiating a big NY publishing contract on my own. I am in the process of trying to find a literary agent to guide me in my writing career and tackle the legal mumbo jumbo for me.

This means it’s very possible my release dates for The Wolf and the Highlander and Virgin’s Sacrifice might get pushed back. It’s so hard to see completed books lying around waiting to be published, but an even bigger travesty would be publishing wonderful books too soon and rushing the process.

I’m super proud of these two books in the pipeline, so I’m not going to rush them. They deserve to be lovingly cradled and cherished and brought into the world with as much care as my first two.

So, readers, please bear with me. I promise, The Wolf and the Highlander and Virgin’s Sacrifice will be well worth the wait. And just wait until my Christmas contemporary, Cole in My Stocking, hits the shelves! We’re talking hot state troopers, illegal firearms deals, and a heroine who’s a cracker-jack shot!

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a comment and let me know what books you’re looking forward to reading in 2014!

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Season of Change

  1. Wow, girlfriend! You’ve had a lot going on. I kind of figured something was up when I wasn’t seeing you pop up in many of our shared online haunts. I wasn’t sure if it was simply the holidays or something more. You have been a good friend and ear for me, so whatever you need…say the word. (Strangely enough, I JUST put my review of Road Rage up on Amazon today.) Hoping everything works out for you in the best possible way!

    • Jessi Gage says:

      Thank you, dearie!

      I have indeed been quiet on the interwebs these days. Life happens, you know? But it’s mostly awesome stuff. I feel so blessed!

      Thank you SO much for the review! Okay if I contact you once the title is back “on-line” to re-post your review? I’m thinking switching publishers is going to nix all the lovely reviews I’ve gotten, which is the worst part of this change. Well, that, and having my books not be on sale this month!

      Thanks again for stopping by! Hugs to you!

  2. Thank you for sharing your decision making process on this. I only have one title with Lyrical and I’m waiting to see the contract before I make a final decision, so I’m very interested to see how other Lyrical authors have made their choices on such a big change.

    • Jessi Gage says:

      It is a big decision. Self-publishing is scary to me. I’m not willing to try it with a new book. But for 2 books that have been previously published, one of which stuck around on an Amazon bestseller list for a few months, I figure I don’t have much to lose. I’ll blog about my experiences, so be sure to check back in the next few months.

      Good luck with your decision too, Pippa! Keep in touch about it!

      • I’ve self published a couple of short stories, but that’s it. A good point about self publishing something that’s already got a good track record, and I’ll definitely check back.

        Thanks, and will do. When I know exactly what’s happening, I’ll be blogging about it too. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Cover Reveal for Wishing for a Highlander | Jessi Gage…A Time to Love

Leave a comment

