Playing with Pink Balls

Kyra Jacobs Comes Over to Play

pink ballsI never attempted to play golf until after I got married. Once we settled into married life, though, golf became a new pastime my hubby and I could share while enjoying the great outdoors. Having played recreationally for a few years prior, my husband was able to teach me the basic rules of the game, course etiquette, etc. I took a few lessons, hit the driving range a few dozen times, and voila!, I was ready to give the game of golf a try.

While I still haven’t turned pro, or even broken 90 more than a handful of times, there was one decision I made early on — only play with white golf balls. I mean, really, who used colored balls?

(Ha, that’s not what all of you were thinking from the title, now were you? Come on, admit it. I won’t tell…)

Back when I started golfing, the only colored balls sold were the kind you’d find at mini golf courses — red, blue, green, lavender, black, orange, etc. Nope, too cheesy, wasn’t gonna do it. Only amateurs used those balls. No, I was going to stick with the traditional white balls, stay within the lines of the norm. That’s how golf was meant to be played, after all.

And then one day it happened…my husband, in his sweet attempt to buy me ladies’ golf balls for Christmas, accidentally bought me a box of pink Nikes. I was faced with a major dilemma: cave in and play with the pink balls, or waste a perfectly good dozen Nikes. Had they been a cheaper set, the pink balls may never have seen the light of day. But Nikes? Well, those deserved a chance.

Turns out, those pink Nikes became one of my favorite type of balls. Have they helped knock ten strokes off my game? No, not yet, but playing with them didn’t kill me, either. Nor did I spontaneously combust when the club head of my driver made contact on that first tee, and no one laughed at me or pointed from the next fairway whilst whispering to their cart mates.

Huh, go figure.

The same fork in the road recently appeared in my writing life. When I first decided to write Armed With Steele, I was bound and determined to follow the traditional publishing route. Self publishing wasn’t an option I even wanted to consider. I mean, if I couldn’t get someone to pick up my book, that meant it wasn’t any good, right?

Now, deep down I knew that wasn’t true. But I got sucked in by the allure of traditional publishing, wanted to stick to the norm. Do I regret choosing that path? Absolutely not. I gained an incredible amount of knowledge about the overall publishing process, from contract signing to release date and beyond. The staff at Lyrical was amazing to work with, my editor and I really seemed to “click”, and I made a bazillion new friends as I was welcomed into the Lyrical sisterhood.

So why, you may ask, am I self publishing book two? The answer is simple, really.

Because I can.

I have proven to myself that I can sit down and write a novel. In fact, not only can I write one, but I have also learned how to improve upon it, fix plot gaps, strengthen characters, and make the words sparkle. Now, I am proving I can take it that last step and publish it on my own as well.

Sure, I pitched my second book to several agents, and received more interest this time around than when I was a complete unknown, but after 5 months and no offer for representation, I decided to move ahead with striking out on my own for this book. I’m confident in my writing, my readers enjoy what I write, and honestly, they’ve been getting antsy for the next one. Who am I to deny them another good read? 😉

So self publishing it is with Flirting With Fire, the second book in my romantic suspense line. And who knows? Just as the pink Nikes turned out to be my favorite new golf ball, so may the self publishing route become a favorite of mine. Or not. Either way, I will be able to honestly look back and say I gave both routes a try, and know from experience which worked best for me.

 

Armed with Steele by Kyra Jacobs

18063464What happens undercover, stays under covers.

Jessica Hartley is looking for answers surrounding the mysterious car accident that nearly claimed the life of her best friend. She’s willing to risk it all, even her fledgling business, to find the person responsible and bring them to justice.

Nate Steele is more than willing to help Jessica, but for reasons all his own. He’s been watching the infamous Maxwell Office Solutions for some time now, convinced thereis more going on than meets the eye. When his chief issues a cease and desist order yet again, Nate has no choice but to accept inexperienced Jessica as an undercover partner outside the letter of the law.

Will Jessica and Nate be able to flush out Maxwell’s elusive villain, or will their growing attraction for each other sabotage their undercover ploy? Motives aren’t always what they seem when Jessica finds herself armed with Steele.

CONTENT WARNING: Beware drool-worthy men in uniform, touchy-feely coworkers, and vindictive ex-girlfriends. A Lyrical Press Contemporary Romance – Hometown Heroes

Thank you, Kyra, for telling us about your evolving writing journey. Some of your experiences and rationale as you move forward with self publishing mirror mine.

To learn more about Kyra and her writing, find her on the web:

blog | twitter | website | facebook

To buy Armed with Steele: Amazon | B&N

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Playing with Pink Balls

  1. Hi Kyra and Jessi, I really enjoyed the comparison between pink balls and self-publishing! Funny.

  2. Thanks so much for having me on today, Jessi, and letting me share a bit about my writing journey!

Leave a comment

