Working Out My Non-Writing Muscles

Here is what I hoped I looked like during my first ever meeting with a personal trainer:

This was probably closer to the reality:

Yeah, so…I’ve reached that age where I need to start making an effort to maintain my fitness. In my twenties, I was blessed in that I didn’t have to pay attention to what I ate and how active I was. As an undergraduate and then a graduate student at the University of Washington, I walked or biked to school every day and speed-walked across campus to make my classes, often hauling a bag loaded with books and a laptop. Wasn’t hard to stay fit.

In my early thirties, I had kids. I paid absolutely no attention to my own fitness, but thanks to breastfeeding, I didn’t put on too much unwanted weight. Now I’m in my late thirties. I’m done breastfeeding. I sit in the car 2+ hours a day to get my kids to school and run errands and then I sit at the computer to write or blog or play Candy Crush when my brain is too fried to do anything productive.

Being active these days includes walking up and down the stairs to do laundry, helping my 5 year-old ride her bike, weilding a hammer to build cabinets for my upcoming kitchen remodel, and doing crunches on the living room floor.

I wish it were enough. It’s not.

I’m not unhappy with my physique, and if that were the only factor, I probably wouldn’t change anything at this point. But weight/appearance isn’t the nly factor. My bloodpressure is too high, and I’m tired pretty much all the time. My body is sending me signals that I need to DO something to improve my health.

So…I joined a gym.

I despise cardio, but I like putting on muscle. The ergonomic machines at the gym are totally adjustable to my 5’1″ height, and I can choose the amount of weight I want to work with. I can target my big muscle groups and challenge myself however I see fit.

In the past, I’ve had good luck putting on muscle to battle the bulge. I’m hoping my metabolism remebers that and behaves for me.

So why am I posting about my journey to better fitness here, on my writing blog?

Because when I’m fatigued and not feeling good, I can’t focus enough to write. I’ve been disappointed with my writing output this year. Something needs to change. By getting into better shape, I hope I will feel better and see an improvement in my concentration and creativity.

I’ll let you know how it goes! Wish me luck!

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Working Out My Non-Writing Muscles

  1. Mae Clair says:

    Good luck with your new routine, Jessi. It’s always so hard tackling an exercise program, and finding the time to squeeze it in. I did great during the summer months when I was able to use my pool but now I need to find another source. My hubby and I are P90X fans, although we’ve gotten to the age where we can’t do the full blown version any longer. I opt for the 30-minute go round now, which still is enough to knock me on my butt, LOL. I’ll be cheering you on! 😀

  2. Good luck! We’re finally replacing our treadmill this weekend (the last one broke)…so I’ll be joining you on the workout trail. 🙂

  3. Jessi Gage says:

    Thanks, ladies! Mae, 90X sounds intense. 🙂

  4. Pansy Petal says:

    I wish you all kinds of luck on your quest. It is so important to continue to move in some form or another for any number of reasons, the least of which is body image. Health is an excellent reason, so you have a very good start. You go girl!

Leave a comment

