What do Witness Protection and Kitchen Remodeling Have in Common?

They’re sharing a post today, because…

It’s Two-fer Tuesday Friday!

two thingsYou know what they say, If one good thing is good, two good things are…er good-er.

It’s a two-post kind of Friday, which means double the bloggy goodness for you! *throws confetti*

Check out today’s Free Publicity Friday with romance author Loni Flowers and then continue on to see before and after images of my recent kitchen remodel. If you’ve been wondering where I am and why I’m ignoring you, you’ll understand why after seeing the before and after shots. There was a LOT to do! Fortunately I had help!

More about that later. First, here’s a book about secrets and doing what you need to instead of what you want to and then…finding love:

Witness to my Heart By Loni Flowers

Witness to my HeartGenre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Date of Publication: August 12, 2014
ISBN: 978-1500677626
ASIN: 1500677620
Number of pages: 376
Word Count: 94,600
Amazon
Kindle Unlimited
$2.99

Keep a low profile. That’s what Abigale Peterson was supposed to do, especially when the person she was being protected from was one of the world’s worst crime lords. After seven years in the Witness Protection Program, she felt no safer now than she did when she was seventeen. Revenge was rarely forgotten when it came to a professional criminal like Zerilli.

Low profiles meant no social life and definitely no love life.

Paranoia and lies became daily habits, going against everything Abigale believed in, but they kept her safe. They kept everyone safe.

Until a house fire puts her out of that safety and into the arms of a stranger. Max Smith is sexy, smart, and has major attitude. He’s the only one who seems to get her. He calms her fears and comforts her from her nightmares. But he also sees right through her lies.

Before Abigale can stop, she’s in too deep; confiding too much and breaking the one rule she promised herself to uphold: Never fall in love.

Loni FlowersAuthor Bio:

Loni thrives off of finding the tiniest speck of romance in any plot thread and is a firm believer in the happily-ever-after’s. She thrives off the sexual tension, and gets a kick out of taking her characters on a roller-coaster ride of drama-filled emotions. A romance that soothes the soul is her number one priority.

Blog:  http://www.loniflowers.com/?page_id=57
Web: http://www.loniflowers.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/LoniFlowers
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorLoniFlowers
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5405526.Loni_Flowers

New Kitchen-y Goodness

RT_demo1Many of you know I’ve been managing a major kitchen renovation this autumn. Here’s the proof, in case you don’t believe me. Yes, that’s me in the Tyvek suit. My awesome contractors (BYD Construction, Seattle) let me take the first sledgehammer swings in the demo phase. Here I am using a crowbar to rip up the half-wall that served no conceivable purpose in my old kitchen. That, my friends, was a satisfying day.

pre1 pre2 pre3 pre4Before I show you the finished kitchen in all its glory, I had to post a few “before” pictures. Because as a romance author, I’m all about the build-up to the big pay off.

Here’s my old kitchen. This is the mustard-yellow and brown monstrosity I’ve been living with since my husband and I purchased our first home four years ago. I’ve been making do, but it’s been a slog. I had WAAAYYYY too little storage, unacceptable functionality (non-working oven), an urgonomical disaster of a refrigerator, and let’s not even go into the aesthetics.

When I published my first novel, Wishing for a Highlander, I affectionately referred to it as Wishing for a Dishwasher. At the time, I didn’t have a working stove OR a working dishwasher in my kitchen. The shiny stainless steel number you’re seeing here is the result of my first novel soaring to best-seller status (time-travel romance & Scottish historical romance). The pictures coming up are the result of it staying there for more than two years and of the success of my other books.

I kept the dishwasher. And the kid. Everything else got tossed, including the walls, floor, and asbestos popcorn ceiling. I hope my old kitchen is burned to a cinder somewhere and that the fumes killed some evil demons.

Now for the big unveiling!!!!

Are you ready?!

MM900283640

Jessi’s New Kitchen!

kr1 kr2kr4 kr3  kr5  kr7 kr8 kr9 kr10 kr11 kr12

The cell-phone photos are not the clearest, but you get the idea. Isn’t it pretty?!

My contractor’s crew was awesome. Their attention to detail was astonishing. They cleaned up after themselves when they left every night. They were sweet to my kids. And they ate the snacks I pushed on them.

I am super thankful to all my readers who made this kitchen possible. THANK YOU if you’ve ever bought one of my books or helped promote me! And thank you for reading!

Have a wonderful weekend! I have to go cook something now.

About Jessi Gage

Jessi lives with her husband and children in the Seattle area. She’s a passionate reader of all genres of romance, especially anything involving the paranormal. Ghosts, demons, vampires, witches, weres, faeries...you name it, she’ll read it. As for writing, she's sticking to Highlanders and contemporaries with a paranormal twist (for now). A career student (aka indecisive and inquisitive bookworm), Jessi brings her love of research to her worlds and characters. Her guiding tenet in her writing is that good always trumps evil, but not before evil gives good one heck of a run for its money. The last time she imagined a world without romance novels, her husband found her crouched in the corner, rocking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What do Witness Protection and Kitchen Remodeling Have in Common?

  1. Pansy Petal says:

    Very nice! I am glad I could help. 😉 Enjoy!

  2. Amy Raby says:

    It looks fabulous!

  3. Mae Clair says:

    Jessi, your kitchen is gorgeous! As someone in real estate, whose seen countless homes and photos of homes, I’ve got to say I LOVE it. I’m partial to white and love all of the accents and details– from floor to counters, backsplash and, especially that dramatic violet paint!

    And I recommend Loni’s WITNESS TO MY HEART as a good read. Great story!

  4. Loni says:

    Aww, thank you so much, Jessi, for pimping me out! I was traveling most the day Friday and completely missed it.
    Your kitchen looks freakin’ fantastic!! Love the colors and it makes your space look so much bigger now.

  5. Cathy Gibsin says:

    Beautiful kitchen!!!

  6. trishafaye says:

    Beautiful!! Love the purple on the walls!

  7. Charmaine Lindsay-Engdahl says:

    Jessi, congratulations on your new kitchen is beautiful. You got me hooked on your Highlander books. I though you would have written one with Anya’ sister and the wolf king. I enjoyed all of them as well as Cole in my Stockings. All of them are books I could not put down.

    • Jessi Gage says:

      I officially love you for your comment, Charmaine! Thank you.

      I’m plotting Seona and Magnus’s story now with the hope of releasing it mid 2016. Sorry for the wait! Make sure you join my mailing list so you get news of new releases.

      In the mean time, I’m VERY close to publishing the audio book of The Wolf and the Highlander. I’m approving the audio files today and tomorrow! If you’ve bought the e-book on Amazon, you can get the audio version for, I think, $1.99!

      Thanks for following me! And for the kind words!

Leave a comment

